//
you're reading...
Community Projects

Crisis Counselor Challege

trevor-project-web

For the last six months, I have  been volunteering as a crisis counselor for The Trevor Project, which provides real-time support to suicidal LGBTQ youth.  This organization originally sparked my interest because I feel that it is absolutely heartbreaking that someone would rather die than be themselves.  After extensive training, I began my 1-year obligation as a career counselor.  It has been a truly challenging and rewarding experience.  Some days, I feel satisfied with my efforts and confident that I have helped my clients.  Other days, I feel dismayed at the cruelty that exists in this world.  When we are faced with someone who is  questioning themselves and feeling isolated, it is so important that we carefully listen to their feelings with empathy and understanding. I look forward to the second half of my obligation to The Trevor Project, and hope that I will only improve as a crisis counselor and provide the best care to my clients possible.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

