//
you're reading...
Blog

The Girl Scout Urban Campout

vanessa griffin stafford girlscouts

Last Friday, a bunch of Rotarians got together to volunteer at the Girl Scout Urban Campout fundraiser.

The patriotic themed event was just getting started at the time of my arrival. I was assigned to be a flagger during the live auction, which wasn’t until the end of the program. So this gave me an opportunity to enjoy the festive atmosphere and meet different people who were there to support the cause.

I think my favorite part of the program was the dancing presentation put on by a group of Native Americans. I haven’t had a lot of exposure to their culture, and I found the choreography and clothing fascinating.

Following the dancing and some singing, it was time for the auction. This was where the big bidders got a chance to donate and send young girls to camp. The best prize was a small terrier puppy that I was inclined to try and run off with myself! Completely adorable. Very generous offers were made on all the prizes and it seemed like the event was a huge success. I look forward to hopefully lending a hand at next year’s Urban Campout.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

